Pics of the event are now available here.
Slides presented at the conference are, for some articles, available in the program page.

Actual time in Paris :

Call For Papers

Sixth Annual RECOMB Satellite Meeting on Comparative Genomics

October 13-15, 2008

Ecole Normale Supérieure

Paris, France

CFP in pdf format


Rapid DNA sequencing technologies have fueled an explosion in genome level data. RECOMB-CG is devoted to the development and utilization of computational methods for the comparative exploration of genome structure, function, and evolution. Both theoretical and applied contributions are welcome, and papers that combine new techniques with new knowledge derived from their application are highly encouraged.

Submissions should include genome wide analyses informed by comparative data. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Algorithms for comparative genomics
  • Genome rearrangements
  • Ancestral genome reconstruction
  • Multiple genome alignment
  • Genome sequence comparison
  • Modeling genome evolution
  • Identification, classification, and evolution of non-coding motifs
  • Comparative genomics for genome annotation
  • Gene and genome duplication
  • Evolution of gene families
  • Identification of highly conserved and rapidly evolving sequences
  • Gene tree reconciliation
  • Comparative genomics and epigenetics
  • Comparative genomics and proteomics
  • Comparative genomics and gene expression
  • Comparative genomics and adaptation


We invite you to apply for poster presentations on topics of relevance to the workshop. Each poster presentation should be described in a 1 page summary and be submitted by September 22, 2008 via the EasyChair system.


  • June 18, 2008
    Paper submission deadline
  • July 14, 2008
    Notification of paper acceptance
  • July 24, 2008
    Final manuscript due
  • September 22, 2008
    Poster submission deadline
  • October 13-15, 2008


  • Olga Troyanskaya (Princeton University)
  • Aviv Regev (Broad Institute)
  • Trisha Wittkop (University of Michigan)
  • Chris Ponting (University of Oxford)
  • Laurent Duret (Université Claude Bernard)


  • Jens Lagergren (Stockholm Bioinformatics Centre & KTH)
  • Aoife McLysaght (Trinity College Dublin)
  • David Sankoff (University of Ottawa)


  • Craig E. Nelson (Molecular & Cell Biology - Univ. of Connecticut)
  • Stéphane Vialette (IGM - Univ. Paris-Est)


  • Aoife McLysaght(University of Dublin, Ireland)
  • Lars Arvestad (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Véronique Barriel (Muséum national d'histoire naturelle, France)
  • Anne Bergeron (Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada)
  • Guillaume Blin (Université Paris-Est, France)
  • Guillaume Bourque (Genome Institute of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Jeremy Buhler (Washington University in Saint Louis, USA)
  • Pierre Capy (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Cédric Chauve (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
  • Avril Coghlan (Sanger Institute, UK)
  • Miklós Csuros (Université de Montréal, Canada)
  • Aaron Darling (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • David Sankoff(University of Ottawa, Canada)
  • Bernard Dujon (Institut Pasteur, France)
  • Dannie Durand (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Nadia El-Mabrouk (Université de Montréal, Canada)
  • Niklas Eriksen (Göteborg University, Sweden)
  • Guillaume Fertin (Université de Nantes, France)
  • Olivier Gascuel (Université de Montpellier II, France)
  • Henri Grosjean (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Matthew Hahn (Indiana University, USA)
  • Jens Lagergren(Stockholm Bioinformatics Centre and CSC, KTH, Sweden)
  • Tao Jiang (University of California - Riverside, USA)
  • Emmanuelle Lerat (Université Claude Bernard, France)
  • Bernard Moret (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Craig Nelson (Co-Chair, University of Connecticut, USA)
  • Rasmus Nielsen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Michal Ozery-Flato (University of Tel-Aviv, Israel)
  • Pierre Pontarotti (Université de Provence, France)
  • Eduardo Rocha (Université Paris 6 et Institut Pasteur, France)
  • Hugues Roest-Crollius (Ecole Normale Supérieure, France)
  • Antonis Rokas (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Marie-France Sagot (INRIA Rhône-Alpes, France)
  • Cathal Seoighe (University of Cape Town, South Africa)
  • Jens Stoye (Bielefeld University, Germany)
  • Chuan-Yi Tang (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Eric Tannier (INRIA Rhône-Alpes, France)
  • Glenn Tesler (University of California - San Diego, USA)
  • Stéphane Vialette (Co-Chair, Université Paris-Est, France)
  • Louxin Zhang (National University of Singapore, Singapore)


  • Sèverine Bérard (AMAP - Univ. Montpellier II)
  • Guillaume Blin (IGM - Univ. Paris-Est)
  • Maxime Crochemore (IGM - Univ. Paris-Est)
  • Guillaume Fertin (LINA - Univ. de Nantes)
  • Hugues Roest Crollius (DYOGEN - Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris)
  • Eric Tannier (INRIA Rhône-Alpes - HELIX project)
  • Jean-Stéphane Varré (INRIA Futurs - Univ. de Lille)
  • Stéphane Vialette (IGM - Univ. Paris-Est)

Papers should be submitted via the EasyChair system. Submissions must be received in electronic form by 11:59pm (Paris local time), June 18th, 2008.

Submissions should be no more than 12 single-spaced A4 pages with 1.25-inch margins all around, everything included (title, authors, addresses, abstract, references, figures, tables), in at least a 10-point font. An optional short appendix may contain details or additional data to be consulted at the discretion of the program committee. Note that authors of accepted papers will have to reformat them for the proceedings using the Springer LNCS style, which has even wider margins. It may save the authors' some work if this format is used from the outset. The submission must include the corresponding author's email address.

Papers submitted for review should represent original, previously unpublished work. At the time the paper is submitted to the conference, and for the entire review period, the paper should not be under review by any other conference or scientific journal.

Note that accepted papers will be considered as preliminary work, and may be submitted to a journal publication after notification of acceptance.

Successful submissions will be invited for a 20-minute presentation, and the paper will be printed in the conference proceedings, which will be published by Springer in the "Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics" series.

Address any questions to the program committee chairs.


Registration will be available on the conference website.